In 2022, more than 20 states will increase their minimum wage rates for employees. Some states, including Connecticut, Florida, Nevada, and Oregon, will have minimum wage increases later in the year. Make special note of the effective date for New York’s increases, December 31, 2021.
This year, California will become the first state to reach a statewide $15.00 minimum wage, though it is limited to employers with 26 or more employees. There are a number of states that will reach that threshold in the coming years.
To ensure your business complies with minimum wage changes starting January 1, 2022, please review the applicable states below.
|State||2021 Minimum Wage||2022 Minimum Wage|
|California||$13.00 (for employees with 25 or fewer employees)||$14.00 (for employees with 25 or fewer employees)|
|$14.00 (for employers with 26 or more employees)||$15.00 (for employers with 26 or more employees)|
|Connecticut||$13.00||$14.00 (effective 7/1/2022)|
|Florida||$10.00||$11.00 (effective 9/30/2022)|
|Maryland||$11.60 (for employers with 14 or fewer employees)||$12.20 (for employers with 14 or fewer employees)|
|$11.75 (for employers with 15 or more employees)||$12.50 (for employers with 15 or more employees)|
|Minnesota||$8.21||$8.42 (for small employers)|
|$10.08||$10.33 (for large employers)|
|Nevada||$8.75 (Qualifying health benefits offered)||$9.50 (Qualifying health benefits offered)|
|$9.75 (Qualifying health benefits
|$10.50 (Qualifying health benefits not offered)|
|New York||$12.50||$13.20 (effective 12/31/21)|
|$14.00||$15.00 (Long Island and Westchester County|
|Oregon||$12.00 (non-urban counties)||$12.50 (effective 7/1/22 in non-urban counties)|
|$12.75 (standard counties)||$13.50 (effective 7/1/22 in standard counties)|
|$14.00 (Portland metro area)||$14.75 (effective 7/1/22 in Portland metro area)|
Many counties and cities have their own minimum wage requirements. Be sure to check all counties and cities in which your employees work to determine the full scope of 2022 minimum wage rate increases that affect your payroll.
State Notice Requirements
Employers subject to the minimum wage standards in the Fair Labor Standards Act must post the FLSA minimum wage poster in a conspicuous place at all worksites. Additionally, some states have unique pay notice requirements. For example, Minnesota employers are required to present notices to new employees and keep a signed copy of the notice on file for all employees.
For employers with workers in multiple states, it is important to review the poster and notice requirements in each state employees work to ensure compliance with state laws.
Beginning January 1, 2022, the minimum wage rate for covered federal contract workers will increase from $10.95 to $11.25. However, federal contracts entered into (or renewed or extended) starting January 30, 2022, will require a $15.00 per hour minimum wage rate for workers.
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division State Minimum Wage Laws
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division State Labor Offices