July 2021 Minimum Wage Rate Increases

June 16, 2021|

While there have been recent proposals in Congress to increase the federal minimum wage, they have not gained the support needed to get them through the legislative process. Currently, the federal minimum wage stands at $7.25 per hour and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees, rates that were established in 2009.

However, that has not stopped states from implementing scheduled minimum wage increases or increases tied to the Consumer Price Index. As we reach midyear 2021, several states across the country and some major cities will see their minimum wage rates increase.

Rates increase July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted:

California:
• Berkeley: $16.07 to $16.32
• Emeryville: $16.84 to $17.13 for all employers
• Fremont: $15.00 to $15.25 for 26 or more employees and $13.50 to $15.00 for 1-25 employees
• Los Angeles (city): $14.25 to $15.00 for 1-25 employees
• Los Angeles County: $14.25 to $15.00 for 1-25 employees
• Malibu: $14.25 to $15.00 for 1-25 employees
• Milpitas: $15.40 to $15.65
• Pasadena: $14.25 to $15.00 for 1-25 employees
• San Francisco: $16.07 to $16.32
• Santa Monica: $14.25 to $15.00 for 1-25 employees

Connecticut: $12.00 to $13.00 effective August 1, 2021

Florida: $8.65 to $10.00 on September 30, 2021

Illinois:
• Chicago: $13.50 to $14.00 for 4 – 20 employees and $14.00 to $15.00 for 21 or more employees

Maryland:
• Montgomery County: $13.00 to $13.50 for 1 to 10 employees; $13.25 to $14.00 for 11 to 50; and $14.00 to $15.00 for employers with 51 or more employees

Minnesota:
• Minneapolis: $11.75 to $12.50 for up to 100 employees and $13.25 to $14.25 for 101 or more employees
• St. Paul: $9.25 to $10.00 for 1 to 5 employees; $10.00 to $11.00 for 6 to 100 employees; and $11.50 to $12.50 for 101 to 10,000 employees

Nevada: $8.00 to $8.75 for employers that provide health benefits and $9.00 to $9.75 for employers that do not provide health benefits

New York: $14.50 to $15.00 for fast-food workers outside New York City

Oregon: $12.00 to $12.75
• Portland Metro: $13.25 to $14.00
• Nonurban counties: $11.50 to 12.00

Virginia: $7.25 to $9.50 effective May 1, 2021

Resources

U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division State Minimum Wage Laws

U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division State Labor Offices

Thank you for visiting our HR News. Please note that we do our best to fully research the topics you see here and present accurate and up-to-date information. We believe the information to be accurate but make no claims as such. We also want to share with you that we do not provide professional accounting, financial, legal or tax advice and we recommend contacting a licensed accounting, financial, legal or tax advisor for business advice. For any comments related to the HR News, please email us at info@inovapayroll.com.