It can be tough to keep up with minimum wage increases and changes, especially if your company has employees in multiple states. Twenty-five states will increase their minimum wage rates in 2024. The new minimum wages go into effect on January 1 for 22 of these states. However, Nevada and Oregon’s increased wages will go into effect on July 1, followed by Florida’s which will start on September 30.

The federal minimum wage rate will remain $7.25 per hour for 2024. This rate has not changed since 2009. In states where an employee is subject to both the state and federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher minimum wage rate.

2024 Minimum Wage Increases by State

The following table covers all the 2024 minimum wage increases for all applicable states. These new minimum wage rates go into effect January 1, 2024, unless otherwise noted. Keep in mind that several cities and municipalities have their own wage rates which are not included in this table.

State 2024 Minimum Wage Rate
Alaska $11.73
Arizona $14.35
California $16.00
Colorado $14.42
Connecticut $15.69
Delaware $13.25
Florida $13.00
Hawaii $14.00
Illinois $14.00
Maine $14.15
Maryland $15.00
Michigan $10.33
Minnesota $10.85 – Employers with at least $500,000 in gross sales

$8.85 – Employers with less than $500,000 in gross sales

Missouri $12.30
Montana $10.30
Nebraska $12.00
Nevada $12.00
New Jersey $15.13 – Employers with six or more employees

$13.73 – Seasonal employers and employers with fewer than six employees

New York $16.00 – New York City, Long Island and Westchester County

$15.00 – Rest of the state

Ohio $10.45
Oregon $14.20 (effective through June, 30, 2024)
Rhode Island $14.00
South Dakota $11.20
Vermont $13.67
Washington $16.28

Be Advised

Many counties and cities have their own minimum wage requirements. Be sure to check all counties and cities in which your employees work to determine the full scope of 2024 minimum wage rate increases that affect your payroll.

State Notice Requirements

Employers subject to the minimum wage standards in the Fair Labor Standards Act must post the FLSA minimum wage poster in a clearly visible place at all worksites. Additionally, it’s important to be aware that pay notice requirements can vary by state, and employers should familiarize themselves with the specific regulations in each state where they have employees to ensure compliance with local laws. For example, Minnesota employers are required to present notices to new employees and maintain a signed copy of the notice on file for all employees.

For employers with workers in multiple states, be sure to review the poster and notice requirements in each state your employees work to ensure compliance with state laws.


U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division State Minimum Wage Laws

U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division State Labor Offices

Share This Story